Anyone else have a problem with Zelda 2?

Thomas Ennis

From
Albuquerque
Playing
Super NES
When the Adventures of Link came out on the old NES, I was super excited. Zelda was such a classic, a timeless jewel that even my parents played for hours on end. I borrowed Zelda 2 from my cousins before we purchased it. Games were pretty expensive back then, so I wanted to make sure I liked it. Imagine my shock when I started playing.
Nintendo changed the whole formula of the game! No longer was it a top down adventure, except for the parts where you are traveling. The dungeons and random encounters felt more like Castlevania then Zelda. While Castlevania is a great game, that style does not belong in Zelda in my opinion. What a let down this game was, and man they overdid it on the difficulty.
Did anyone here enjoy the game? Am I alone in my dislike for it?

I didn't like it nearly as much as all other Zelda's, but I beat it. It shouldn't have been called Zelda IMO. It should have just been something else. I never understood why it had a picture of Ganon when you died, but he never appeared in the game! It is still better than a lot of games though. I never compared it to Castlevania, but that is a really good point, the dungeons did feel a bit Castlevaniesh!

Yeah, I think 2 is pretty much regarded the odd one out of the Zelda games by most people.
I think it's the side scrolling aspect of things that was different to the first and which was never again used in a Zelda game that makes it so different.

It does have that classic top down view for parts though, although its more like Pokemon or final fantasy in the way enemies just randomly attack.

There's a really good review of it by the Angry Video Game Nerd that you might enjoy here "http://youtu.be/sDBfNTf4ORY"

I think he about nails it on the head!