Castlevania Chronicles

Thomas Ennis

From
Albuquerque
Playing
Super NES
Though I have had this game downloaded on my PS3 for a while, I just started playing it. I have to say, this game brings back the extremely challenging elements found in Castlevania's past. Everytime I die in a cheap way, of get hit because my character goes up or down the stairs, I get that good old feeling of game rage. There are 2 modes in the game, both of which are hard, but the original mode is much harder.

One thing that I didn't like about the game was the inability to whip in all 8 directions. I don't understand why all the Castlevania games after part 4 didn't implement this feature. Sure the game may be harder without it, but I don't think old features should ever be taken away. All in all, it's a great game, though it will make you swear.

Wow, I didn't even know this game existed. I probably won't download it though, I have been playing through all the originals lately, and I'm a bit sick of castlevania. I'm playing Paper mario now, a little bit different ;)

8-way whip action makes for some sloppy Castlevania. The precision of the 1-way whip was a big part of what made Castlevania gameplay so beautiful.

It's a pretty awesome remake with new elements. 8-way whipping made the game too easy..

The 8 direction whip is also more believable, however.

When you see someone use a whip in action, they're not just striking it forward. If they're talented they can go in any direction they very well, please. I THINK, it's just a thought, the reason why they didn't have it with all the Belmont's afterward is to show that all of them aren't a master of the weapon.