Settle it: Does PC gaming beat all other gaming?

JoanMcWench

Playing
NES
I've heard it too many times before: Yea, but have you played it on PC??? I get that there are ways PC gaming beats consoles but the contrary is also true. Do you feel PC gaming is a niche market or does it stand the test of time?

It stands the test of time. Why? I've been playing PC games since 1997-8. Online, no less. And the computer consoles(or towers in this case) are much more easily modifiable then all those "already built" component machines that get shipped off a line. With little to no upgrade room left, I'd say PC outraces the "Big Three" in the Console wars (Xbox, Sony, Nintendo) and is probably why it's never mentioned. I'd guarantee there's a wider margin of PC game users than the other three combined. Not everyone can afford the consoles, the games, the and connections/accessories. Computer? You just need internet and a basic setup powerful enough to render graphics and you're good to go.

I never think of PC as a competitor to consoles.
I guess this is because I started gaming on PC around '95 or '96 with games like Sim Tower and it took a long time (and many games in-between, like Age of Empires, Empire Earth, Battle Realms, Operation Flashpoint, CounterStrike, Delta Force, etc...) for consoles and PC to have some of the same games.
Even now that you can get Assassin's Creed, Battlefield, Call of Duty and most of the major franchises on consoles or PC, I still think gaming on a computer has lots of different things to offer. For one, take a quick glimpse at Steam and everywhere you'll see tons of games you can't get for consoles. Heck, there's entire genres that are hard to port to consoles, if they even, like RTS (the perfect example: StarCraft 64, anyone?) and simulation games.